## Governance Report

September 2018



Coalition of Student Leaders Geser Bat-Erdene, USUAA President Nick Bursell, USUAS-JC President Dawson Mann, ASUAF President

The Coalition of Student Leaders thanks the Board of Regents for the opportunity to present this report. Below is a brief summary of student government activities on the three main campuses over the summer.

In April 2018, the Associated Students of UAF (ASUAF) elected Dawson Mann as president and Melissa Clark as vice president for AY19. Over the summer, ASUAF also worked on providing additional support to new student orientation programs and creating an early framework for senator orientation. ASUAF also passed additional funding for the Wood Center student food pantry. As fall approaches, ASUAF has been largely focused on office renovations and the recruitment of a new office manager, and plans to have both projects completed later this fall. They continue to work with administration regarding campus security issues.

The Union of Students at UAA (USUAA) held bi-weekly meetings over the summer. As a group they worked to increase communication and collaboration with members of UAA

Moving forward from these summertime accomplishments, there remains much work to be done, and the Coalition is committed to ensuring that the primary stakeholder in the

Dr. Chris Fallen, Chair of the UA Faculty Alliance, is a Research Associate Professor in the Geophysical Institute Space Physics group and is the Chief Scientist of the University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF) High-frequency Active Auroral Research Program (HAARP) Ionospheric and Radio Science Laboratory in Gakona, Alaska. He earned his Ph.D. in Space Physics from UAF (2010) while working as a graduate teaching assistant at the UAF College of Natural Science and Mathematics, at the UAF College of Engineering and Mines, and as a graduate research assistant at the former UAF Arctic Region Supercomputing Center; his M.A. in Mathematics from the University of Kansas (2004); and his B.S. in Physics and B.A. in Mathematics from Fort Lewis College (2000). In addition to serving as Chair of the University of Alaska (UA) Faculty Alliance, Dr. Fallen is the Principal Investigator (PI) of the Lowell Digisonde Instrument at HAARP and the one currently under construction at Poker Flat Research Range (PFRR). He is also the PI of multiple funded projects at HAARP, and is currently seeking Federal funding to expand the research infrastructure at HAARP and PFRR.

## Staff Alliance Josh Watts, Chair

UA Staff Alliance held its first meeting online on July 24 to introduce the new members and to discuss the role of governance for the upcoming year. The group had a significant amount of turnover for the upcoming year with five out of eight members new to UA Staff Alliance. 2018 2019 Staff Alliance membership includes:

Kiwana Affatato, Vice President, UAS Staff Council Kara Axx, President UAF Staff Council David Felts, President, UAS Staff Council Arthur Hussey, President, SW Administration Assembly Brenda Levesque, Co-President, UAA Staff Council John Moore, Co-President, UAA Staff Council Mathew Mund, Vice President, UAF Staff Council Josh Watts, Vice President, SW Administration Assembly

UA Staff Alliance held the annual retreat on Aug. 17 in Fairbanks. President Jim Johnsen, Vice President Michelle Rizk, Vice President Paul Layer, Director of Benefits Erika Van Flein, Director of HR Accounting and HRIS Michelle Pope, Director of Compensation Tara

Josh Watts (SW) was elected chair of Staff Alliance and Brenda Levesque (UAA) was elected vice chair. They are exci